top of page

Criticism Can Do You Good!


There was a young gentleman who was at a church service. He always was compassionate towards others and wanted to do all that he could to help his fellow brothers and sisters in Christ. Once, during altar call, he "felt it in his spirit" to go up and pray for this particular individual. One of the leaders of the house seen this and quickly stated to him, “Now I don’t know who you are and where you come from but in this house, we have order. We have minsters and others who are here to pray for people. Now I’m not sure if you felt it in your spirit to come up and pray, but you can do so at your seat.” Feeling spiritually reprimanded in The House of Thee Lord, the gentlemen smiled, walked away and took his seat. He did not return back to church for several weeks.

Many say “Only GOD can judge me” but will you be ready when He does?

Constructive feedback is truly essential. I truly respect and appreciate those who correct me now while in the physical. They see my salvation; our salvation; the bigger picture! How else is iron supposed to sharpen iron (Proverbs 27:17)? How else is a sheppard suppose to pasture his sheep (1 Peter 5:2; Jeremiah 3:15)?

In the past, because I am a natural perfectionist, I personally could not handle getting any type of feedback. I am particular, and meticulous. When someone would correct me, I would take it to heart because I tried my best to execute excellence in all that I did. I would detest getting correction and always thought that folks were unable to see me for me because they did not know me (thank GOD for spirital growth).

I believe the “don’t judge me” attitude stems from those who are on their high horses, filled with well-disguised blemishes, and a non-compassionate heart, always being the one tearing down others to build their esteem. Their words are of stone and do not come from a place of love, concern and genuineness. When they give judgment (which is not judgement because only GOD has that authority and this is done after death), opinions rather, as they throw these stones (John 8:7), the receiving ends of these natural weapons are bruised, and even murdered; never wanting to have anything to do with rectification from anyone else.

“Death and life are in the power of the tongue” (Proverbs 18:21, KJV). When we truly understand this then we will become cognizant of what we say.

The top two commandments from the Bible can be read from 1 John 3:23 (KJV):

“And this is his commandment, That we should believe on the name of his Son Jesus Christ, and love one another, as he gave us commandment.”

Love thy neighbor as thyself.

We see this phrase, concept, repeated numerously throughout the Bible; the principle and action of love. Especially showing that the type of love as you would towards yourself, towards others. This is anchored on the foundation of forgiveness and understanding “For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of darkness of the world, against spiritual wickedness in high places” (Ephesians 6:12, KJV)(See “Forgiveness: Realizing Who We REALLY Are At War With” post).

If as a brother or sister, I cannot come to you to warn you of your antichrist (sin) and troubling ways, I can assume that you would not come to me, correct? We can imply that in doing so we are violating the commandment and therefore acting in disobedience and committing sin? If I knew I was heading down a detrimental path, I would want someone to tell me to “turn around!” I would want someone who cared enough to tell me “Rashell this is not Christ’s’ way!” I would come after me and pull myself away. As for my neighbor I shall do the same! This is why I choose to write The Truth so we can remain accountable, on path and pull others towards Christ’s’ direction. Where do you get The Truth you ask, The Bible of course! “Then said Jesus to those Jews which believed on him, If ye continue in my word, then are ye my disciples indeed; And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free”

(John 8:31-32 KJV). Did Jesus not say that “I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me” (John 14:6, KJV). EVERTHING that is not of Christ is of the enemy and is a lie.

“Whatever choices we make, strengthens one kingdom and weakens the other” Pastor Dawkins (roughly quoted). If you are not living in GOD’s’ word, and standard, then whom are you living for? GOD lives in Heaven, where all our needs will be met! I would not want to die, unknowingly heading to burn for eternity. The Bible says “My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge: because thou hast rejected knowledge…” (Hosea 4:6, KJV). The enemy lives where again? Could you reside there for perpetuity? I would hope your answer would be no. This is why it is not always negative to be corrected so that you do not fall into the enemy’s trap and you are able to glorify GOD’s’ word through your life. Take heed! “A wise man will hear, and will increase learning; and a man of understanding shall attain unto wise counsels” (Proverbs 1: 5, KJV).

“He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone” (KJV, John 8:7).

When giving correction, and/or advice it should come from a place of humility. Remember, we were all once sinners but Christ took care of that, (1 Peter 3:18) and fall short of the glory (Lamentations 3:22-23; Romans 3:23)! However the Bible also says in Proverbs 19:20, KJV, “Hear counsel, and receive instruction, that thou mayest be wise in thy latter end.” In others words be open to correction now so that later you will be wiser in your decision-making. How else are we supposed to improve as individuals but most of all as servants of GOD if we cannot be corrected from others? Who are we really hurting in the end when we refuse to become better? "The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge: but fools despise wisdom and instruction” (Proverbs 1: 7, KJV). Selah.

Remember the story above about the gentlemen who was reprimanded for praying for his brethren? It was not a man; it was I. I took that correction to heart and my flesh had a ball with it! I could not understand why I would be “spiritually insulted” for doing the “right” thing, and in ALL OF THE PLACES— church?! However, was it really the right thing? What I took away from this lesson was sharper discernment and order in GOD’s’ Kingdom. Know your place! Respect authority and the position they play in your spiritual development! We should never get so comfortable in our surroundings and achievements in life that we forget that there is a ladders of organization. Though I knew that I was coming from an innocent and good place, I had to understand I had not received my right of passage to act in the way that I had desired. There are levels to this. I must show that I am aligned with GOD’s’ Will. I am so open to self-growth from those who have walked similar paths and are genuinely living within The Will of Thee Lord. Though I disappeared for a few weeks, I am so grateful that I returned for I would not be here today, writing to you all!

Do not be a fool and welcome criticism! Better safe than sorry!

Stay Blessed!

(Photo courtsey of LinkedIn.com: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/gift-criticism-philip-holt)

Meet RashellSelah

I am a Christian Blogger...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
My Church Home

Praise Tabernacle International

"We are a Kingdom Church, that's transforming lives for Christ centered living."

1050 NW 43rd Avenue 

Plantation, FL 33313

Website: http://www.praiseti.org

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page