top of page

25 & Still Virgin? WHEREEE?!


What is a Virgin?

Contrary to popular belief there are still virgin men and women who desire to remain abstinent until marriage; and yes, I am one of them. I am a virgin. Many people are shocked due to the day in age where society encourages sex outside of marriage and deemed it as "completely normal." Tisk! Tisk! Tisk!

The definition of a:

Virgin: Pure; untouched; a person who has never had sexual intercourse. (KJV, 2015 & "Dictionary.com," 2015).

Celibacy: a person who abstains from sexual relations ("Dictionary.com,"2015).

Yes, it is true we are made of flesh and biologically are wired to want to have sex and procreate. This is perfectly natural. However, we must understand that there are guidelines. Where do these guidelines come from? The lovely Bible of course!

The Bible says:

1 Corinthians 7:1-4 (KJV)

7 Now concerning the things whereof ye wrote unto me: It is good for a man not to touch a woman.

2 Nevertheless, to avoid fornication, let every man have his own wife, and let every woman have her own husband.

3 Let the husband render unto the wife due benevolence: and likewise also the wife unto the husband.

4 The wife hath not power of her own body, but the husband: and likewise also the husband hath not power of his own body, but the wife.

Sex is sacred. Sex is special. It is suppose to be shared between a man and woman in a covenant relationship with Thee Lord (as can be read above). It is not something that we, as creations should decide how we are going to go about it and what can be added and subtracted from it. Have we not remembered that our body is not even ours? "What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own" (1 Corinthians 6:19)? Until your heart is vulnerable with GOD and you stop fighting conviction, you will not be able to accept this.

So Why Should We Wait?

When we sin sexually, we sin against our own flesh.

1 Corinthians 6:18-20 (KJV)

18 Flee fornication. Every sin that a man doeth is without the body; but he that committeth fornication sinneth against his own body.

19 What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own?

20 For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God's.

This is where the sacred factor of sex comes in. You are not supposed to be shared with everybody. Look at it from this perspective. The Bible says that Jesus is coming for His church. Jesus is singular and notice as The Body of Christ, the church is seen as one (1 Corinthians 12:12). The Bible says that a man is suppose to treat his wife as GOD treats the church (Ephesians 5:25). Where do you see anything plural here? A group named Jesus is coming back for the church? Precisely. (Refer back to 1 Corinthians 7:1-4).

Remaing pure until marriage reminds me that I am vessel for the Lord and I must act as such. It reminds that I may have a daughter, niece, and so forth, that one day will look up to me. In a society filled with immoral clutter, I can be the one to tell them, "yes, I did it. I waited. You can do it too!" Walking in obedience IS BEYOND ME! GOD would not have called us to be holy unless He knew we could be (1 Thessalonians 4:7)! I believe in being completely selfish and giving my husband ALL of me; not just spiritually and emotionally but physically as well. "Get ALL the braggin' rights baby! ALL!!!" [laughs]. Getting married and becoming one with your husband or wife, should be looked forward to! You should want to present yourself in the best manner you can! What an honor it is that your husband or wife will be the first to have you? What an honor it is for you to stop giving your precious treasure away and decide that you would rather fight through temptations and fleshly desires to show your husband or wife that we are worthy of the wait? What an honor it is to stand in GOD's' Word and Will and be obedient to Him? GLORY! What a feeling of peace I get from that! So How are YOU Able to Do It?

Honestly GODs' grace and mercy has kept me thus far! I have had many imperfections, situations, invitations, offers, opportunities, and so forth, to get the ball rolling! NO JOKE! 'Till this day, it still would not be hard for me to fall into temptation and have my fleshly desires granted. It is truly a daily struggle. I am not perfect at all. Being phsically virgin is one thing, being mentally virgin is another. "But I say unto you, That whosoever looketh on a woman to lust after her hath committed adultery with her already in his heart" (Matthew 5:28). This is why we have to pray to GOD to kill our flesh daily and why His grace and mercies are made new every morning (Lamentations 3:22-23). What a merciful GOD we serve!

We all have a choice. Perfoming activities such as exercising on a consistent basis, staying busy aligned to GODs' work (Galatians 5:16) , and not allowing myself to "see/watch" anything beyond PG 13, keeps my flesh in tact! Also, keeping people around you with the same lifestyle, keeps you focused. Iron sharpening iron! If you fight yourself from thinking about it, the less likely you are to fall for your flesh. In addition, if I claim to be Filled with the Holy Ghost, then I "have crucified the flesh with the affections and lusts" and walking in the Spirit (Galatians 5:24). It is all in your mind. Stay prayed up! Blast gospel music! Read you Bible! Keep yourself lost in Christ! Try not to place yourself in ANY situation that can cause you to fall! Pray to GOD for your strength. Again, it is truly a daily struggle. A little secret I learned is that though "the world" may condemn sexual purity and encourage promiscuity, being virgin/sexually moral, yields greater value and reward in the end! If you decide to save yourself for marriage, whether being virgin or celibate, society will oppose you and place pressures on you to act on your sexual urges, outside of marriage. You have to seek GOD, practice SELF CONTROL, and again, make the right choice. If you are a true Christian, the right choices are found in the Word of GOD, the Book of Life. It is very possible to remain virgin until you get married. From my stance, the older you get through maturity, the harder it is to accept foolery! I recognized that my self worth, and most of all, my salvation, is way important and I am not easily persuaded to just let it go. They want it that bad, they are going to have to put in work and through marriage, as defined in the holy Bible, COMMIT to you!

As for me, I am great! I choose willingly to wait until I get married. It is exciting to look forward to experiencing that chapter of life of true sexual liberty! I will not be ashamed of it! I will not have to sneak around. I will not be afraid of getting pregnant (THE SCARE IS REALL YALL!). I will be FREE to express myself in that manner and not look back!

Until I take that lovely walk down the isle, exchange those sacred vows and have a ring placed on my finger: "Sorry, we're CLOSED until MARRIAGE."

To all my virgin/celibate brethens, stay strong!

IT WILL BE WORTH IT IN THE END!

(Picture courtsey of Facebook)

References

Dictionary.com. (2015). Virgin. Retrieved from http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/virgin

King James Version Dictionary. (2015). Virgin. Retrieved from http://av1611.com/kjbp/kjv-

dictionary/virgin.html

Meet RashellSelah

I am a Christian Blogger...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
My Church Home

Praise Tabernacle International

"We are a Kingdom Church, that's transforming lives for Christ centered living."

1050 NW 43rd Avenue 

Plantation, FL 33313

Website: http://www.praiseti.org

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page