top of page

Finally Becoming a Member!!!


“For there is no organization more important and no cause more noble than the church of the Lord Jesus Christ.”-Michael L. Gowens, Pastor.

As I mentioned in “Consecration Week Chronicles!,” I finally became a member at Praise Tabernacle International (January 10th, 2015)! This decision definitely took prayer, and time to reach! I just wanted to share a few thoughts with you!

What is a Member?

Merriam-Webster says:

  • someone or something that belongs to or is a part of a group or an

  • organization

  • a part of a structure (such as a building or a bridge)

  • a body part (such as an arm or a leg)

The King James Bible Page says:

"A limb of animal bodies, as a leg, an arm, an ear, a finger, that is, a subordinate part of the main body."

What do these definitions have in common? It is the underlying importance, and impact a member has. I am now part of the “main body." As of my membership recognition to my church home, I hold a level of responsibility, and influence for the purpose of us as a whole.

Is Becoming a Member Necessary?

“Being a member of a church on earth guarantees nothing. Being a member of the Body of Christ guarantees salvation” (Slick, 2016).

As the Bible states:

“Take heed therefore unto yourselves, and to all the flock, over the which the Holy Ghost hath made you overseers, to feed the church of God, which he hath purchased with his own blood. ” (Acts 20:28, KJV).

“Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some [is]; but exhorting [one another]: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching” (Hebrews 10:25, KJV).

“And they continued stedfastly in the apostles' doctrine and fellowship, and in breaking of bread, and in prayers” (Acts 2:42, KJV).

“Praising God, and having favour with all the people. And the Lord added to the church daily such as should be saved” (Acts 2:47, KJV).

“So we, [being] many, are one body in Christ, and every one members one of another” (Romans 12:5, KJV).

Yes it is necessary for you to become a member of a church that is CHRIST-LED! GOD sees us as “Thee Body of Christ.” “And if one member suffers, all the members suffer with them; if one member is honored, all the members rejoice! Now you are Christ's body, and individually members of it” (1 Corinthians 12:17, KJV). “So we, being many, are one body in Christ, and every one members one of another” (Romans 12:5, KJV).

How else are you supposed to gain the appropriate spiritual leadership if you are always hopping from one church to another? You must become a part of the church where you can get pastured, and practice what is needed from you! There is no way that you will gain what is necessary if all you do is “take, take, take!” Learning does not only come from receiving. There must be a time when you now must give, be obedient, and sacrifice!

What I had to Overcome

I had to get through a lot of things. I needed to be developed on an individual, personal, physical, spiritual, mental, and emotional level before considering membership. There were areas that needed housekeeping! Internal, and external battles had to be resolved. Egos, and viewpoints had to be humbled, and scaled back. Humility had to be strengthened. Faith had to be tested, and built. Peace had to be sown in! Deliverance had to be reaped out! I actually got Saved at PTI BEFORE I became a member. With GOD’s direction, they are the reason I am where I am today!

Fears of Becoming an Official Member

“The Church is the 'body of believers.' It is comprised of those who have been saved and redeemed by the True and Living God, based upon the sacrifice of the Lord Jesus upon the cross." (Slick, 2016). I personally hesitated in becoming a member, because I knew that I could no longer hide within a safety net. I could no longer use the excuse of being a “regular church goer”, who was able to attend everything, but not held accountable for anything. Now that I am a member, my Pastor, and the church, has the right to ask, and expect me to do what is fit in order to push forward the work of Thee Lord. You essentially cannot refuse to uphold member roles if you call yourself a member—“With privilege comes responsibility.” I have already been asked to do things for the church! I aim to be a LIVING vessel for Thee Lord!

Now Where I Stand

Being a member now means that I am rooted. I am rooted with GOD’s children, doing the work of Thee Kingdom! I have accountability, obligations, and functions that must be carried out. Becoming a church member is essentially a marriage—a covenant. I am now one with my church. It is not like any other organization where you can just “walk out” when you feel like it. You are in this until the end (2 Kings 2:2). That is why it is so crucial to not haste into things as these. You must seek GOD for guidance!

I will admit that I am nervous in a sense of “Will I properly execute what I am called to execute?” This is a sacred act, and I do not take it lightly. Being a vessel for GOD means that your comfort zone will no longer exist, as you move higher. Being used for His purposes means that more will be required of me (Luke 12:48). My prayer is that I remain humble, and give Him ALL the glory!

I am truly excited to be a part of PTI! However, in the same breath, I understand that this is a privilege that should be regarded with the highest honor!

As, I mentioned in my quick speech after receiving my certificate:

“I am grateful for my Pastor, glory to GOD. I am just ready to work. Hallelujah!”

Selah

References:

Gowens, M. L. Pastor. Church membership: Is it for you? What does it mean? Sovereign Grace Publications. Retrieved from http://www.sovgrace.net/theological-essays/41-the-church/85-church-membership-is-it-for-you-what-does-it-mean

0

King James Bible Page.(2016). Member. Retrieved from http://av1611.com/kjbp/kjv-dictionary/member.html

Meriam-Webster Dictionary.(2016). Member. Retrieved from: http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/member

Slick, M. (2016). What is the Christian church? Retrieved from https://carm.org/what-the-christian-church

留言


Meet RashellSelah

I am a Christian Blogger...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
My Church Home

Praise Tabernacle International

"We are a Kingdom Church, that's transforming lives for Christ centered living."

1050 NW 43rd Avenue 

Plantation, FL 33313

Website: http://www.praiseti.org

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page