top of page

Sunday Sermon Summary: "That’s What Friends Are For!"


Praise Tabernacle International, Plantation, FL.

Pastor D. H. Dawkins, Sr.

“Support is not in your activity, if it is not in your vocabulary.”

-Pastor Dawkins

Today's sermon spoke about friendships!

The key verse was from Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 (KJV):

9 Two are better than one; because they have a good reward for their labour.

10 For if they fall, the one will lift up his fellow: but woe to him that is alone when he falleth; for he hath not another to help him up.

11 Again, if two lie together, then they have heat: but how can one be warm alone?

12 And if one prevail against him, two shall withstand him; and a threefold cord is not quickly broken.

How can one stay warm?

The scriptures may sound as if they are speaking of marital affairs, but they will be addressed in a friendship matter. Taking a “friendship inventory” is necessary.It is a “dog eat dog” world. Friendships are good investments. To receive a good reward, is to have made a good investment. Investments made in relationships, and NOT in finances, are truly the best!

There are two areas in life that we pay attention to:

A. Things

B. Building relationships

Everything shows through relationships.

Proverbs 18:24 (KJV): “A man that hath friends must shew himself friendly:”

Four characteristics of real friends:

1. Helps you when you are down (refer to verse 10 above).

“A friend loveth at all times, and a brother is born for adversity” (Proverbs 17:17, KJV). There are there for both the great,a nd not so great times!

2. Provides emotional/spiritual warmth.

This is shown through their attempts in reaching out to you. You are free to be who you are with them! What filter?

There are two types of people: encouragers, and discouragers.

Discouragers are:

  • Overall negative

  • May be carrying a burden that they have accepted

  • Always criticizing

We should always reevaluate our approach. What we keep correcting may be the areas where we, ourselves, have problems.

3. Fight to protect you, and your reputation (refer to verse 12).

This means, they do not stab, but guard your back. They do not put up with gossip about you, and do not speak without you being there. Know your “friendship status.” Know how you, and your friends communicate. Again, this is an investment you make. It is a mutual covenant of morals, ethics, and beliefs, harmonizing together, through honoring, and support!

4. A real friend is committed to helping you grow spiritually. We were all created in the mind of GOD, and then formed in the Earth.

Our bodies were formed to house the Holy Spirit. You must feed your Spirit, so that you can gain strength to gain victory! Remember, “For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places” (Ephesians 6:12, KJV).

The best gift you can ever give, as a friend is an invitation to the relationship with GOD! A real friend wants to close that gap you have with GOD.

“…and there is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother” (Proverbs 18:24).

What a friend we have in J E S U S !

Life Application

This has been definitely relevant in my life! Taking a friend inventory is essential! Listen! I have been living this through! NO ONE IS SAFE! Family, AND friends! I am valuable, and understand that my time, passion, and efforts are treasure! Last year, I had expressed that I was not running after anyone that did not want to stay, and be a part of my life! There is so much adoration I give to those I hold dear to me. I need to be encircled with those of the same mentality, and understand my “friendship philosophy.” In other words, my friendship language.

I need consistency.

I need effort.

I need respect.

I need quality time.

I need consideration.

I need clarification.

I need communication.

I need forgiveness.

I need grace.

I need mercy.

I need love.

Selah…

(picture courtsey of http://tristanbills.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/img_post_friendships002.jpg)

Comments


Meet RashellSelah

I am a Christian Blogger...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
My Church Home

Praise Tabernacle International

"We are a Kingdom Church, that's transforming lives for Christ centered living."

1050 NW 43rd Avenue 

Plantation, FL 33313

Website: http://www.praiseti.org

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page