top of page

Sunday Sermon Summary: "The Power of Enthusiasm!"


Praise Tabernacle International, Plantation, FL

Pastor D.H.Dawkins

The key verses were from 1 Corinthians 15:57-58 (KJV):

"57 But thanks be to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

58 Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye stedfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord.”

The focus was on the second verse, clause B, “abounding in the work of the Lord.” To be abound, means you must be willing. You must have enthusiasm. We have the ability to be thermometers, or thermostats.

Thermometers- reads the climate

Thermostats- sets the climate

When it comes to our environment we have the ability to be thermostats—to set the atmosphere. We should be aware that if we are not cautious, our context (external), can contaminate our content (internal), affecting the inside by setting the tone, and changing the atmosphere. This should be the opposite.

Enthusiasm- Greek for entheos which means “The GOD within.”

Referring back to the key verse, if you are not enthusiastic, you can never truly abound in it. Be mindful of who you allow in your circle. Are these individuals bringing, or taking away joy? Are they joy givers or joy takers? Truly ask yourself about those that are around you.

Colossians 3:23 (KJV):

"And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, not unto men;”

If you are serving someone, do it so the Lord can get the glory. Allow the vertical relationship with GOD to influence the people around you. Do not allow other relationships with other people to conflict your relationship with GOD.

People are fickle.

People come. People go.

But GOD is forever constant.

Be around those who truly accept you as you are, but do not leave you because they can.

"Enthusiasm is not the product of environment, but the position of your heart."- D.H.Dawkins

Apostle Paul was in prison still writing about Thee Gospel of The Lord!

Jesus, Himself, while dying on the cross, said "Father, forgive them; for they know not what they do" (Luke 23:24)!

Do you know how much influence you have in your circle? People will do what you allow them to do. All because they have a voice, does not mean they need volume. SELAH. Some times their action needs validation. In other words, in order for the continuation of the situation to occur, your fuel is needed to gas it! Do not provide the fuel! Do not feed into it.

1 Samuel 17: 45-46 (KJV):

"45 Then said David to the Philistine, Thou comest to me with a sword, and with a spear, and with a shield: but I come to thee in the name of the Lord of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom thou hast defied.

46 This day will the Lord deliver thee into mine hand; and I will smite thee, and take thine head from thee; and I will give the carcases of the host of the Philistines this day unto the fowls of the air, and to the wild beasts of the earth; that all the earth may know that there is a God in Israel."

David prophesied his own victory. He had a heavy promise from Thee Lord.

How was this possible?

He:

1. Trusted in GOD daily. There was a daily trust system that was founded.

Proverbs 3:5 (KJV): "Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding."

2. Walked with GOD daily. “A Psalm of David. The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want” (Psalm 23:1, KJV).

3. Worshiped GOD daily. “So all Israel brought up the Ark of the LORD's Covenant with shouts of joy, the blowing of rams' horns and trumpets, the crashing of cymbals, and loud playing on harps and lyres” (1 Chronicles 15:28, NIV).

“One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to inquire in his temple” (Psalm 27:4, KJV).

Ecclesiastes 2:11 (NIV), “Yet when I surveyed all that my hands had done and what I had toiled to achieve, everything was meaningless, a chasing after the wind; nothing was gained under the sun,” there is a part of you that will never be satisfied, but only through Jesus Christ, Himself. SELAH.

Think about how your enthusiam can change the climate of your environment.

Dawkins’s Tip:

“Manage your words, thoughts, and energy, like you manage your money. Budget your resources beyond currency. Every resource you have is valuable.”

Life Application

I can personally relate to the statement of “Enthusiasm is not the product of environment, but the position of your heart.” Folks do not know the fires you go through on a daily basis to be who you are. Energy is contagious. I know that I have a strong influence, and I do not take it lightly. I am a thermostat. I have the ability to set the atmosphere wherever I go. I have seen it for myself. If I chose, because we ALL HAVE A CHOICE, to let my environment be in control, I would not be here today. Even in my current state, I chose to push forward. I chose to be positive. I choose to look up to hill where all, ALL, of my help comes from (Psalm 121)! Gloryyy! I know that GOD is ordering my steps, and that is why I choose to rejoice! That is why I choose to keep a song in my heart. I am covered. I have GOD. I shall enthusiatically abound in the work of Thee Lord!

Selah!!!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(Picture courtsey of https://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://jessibelwood.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/Crazy-Enthusiasm.jpg&imgrefurl=http://jessibelwood.com/?p%3D6061&h=425&w=600&tbnid=bE9uJfeZv1ZLpM:&docid=t-G_RszRfpa74M&ei=uxfmVsiYJ8Wke7-OqrgP&tbm=isch&client=safari&ved=0ahUKEwiI4ov9hr_LAhVF0h4KHT-HCvc4yAEQMwgsKCkwKQ)

Meet RashellSelah

I am a Christian Blogger...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
My Church Home

Praise Tabernacle International

"We are a Kingdom Church, that's transforming lives for Christ centered living."

1050 NW 43rd Avenue 

Plantation, FL 33313

Website: http://www.praiseti.org

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page