top of page

The Importance Of A Church Family


Never forsake the coming together.

Hebrews 10:24-25.

King James Version

24 And let us consider one another to provoke unto love and to good works:

25 Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching.

New International Version

24 And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, 25 not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.

New Living Translation

24 Let us think of ways to motivate one another to acts of love and good works. 25 And let us not neglect our meeting together, as some people do, but encourage one another, especially now that the day of his return is drawing near.

(Picture courtesy of Rashell Selah's Community Page)

Why?

Everyone wants to feel as if they are included. We want to be in a place where we can let our hair down, and have no "judgmental filter" placed upon us. We want to be sharpened, encouraged, and loved. We want to belong.

Some of us were not "fortunate" to have a solid family structure as an example in our childhood lives. While, some of us were able to experience one. I say "fortunate" with quotations because EVERYTHING that we go through eventually ties up with the purpose of our lives: “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose” (Romans 8:28, NLT). The good and bad. The pretty and ugly. The sun and rain. “…Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world" (John 16:33, NIV) The promotions and "rejections." I say "rejection" because as Pastor D.H.Dawkins once taught—when walking with GOD you are either promoted or protected. You are not being rejected. You cannot be "rejected” from something or someone who was never suppose to receive you in the first place. SELAH!

Purpose

Who can validate you? Keep up anchored? Who sent you?

As Pastor Dawkins always alludes to, you MUST be rooted somewhere. SOMEBODY has to be able to vouch for you. Jesus was sent by GOD “For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him” (John 3:17). The Holy Spirit was sent by Jesus “ And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Advocate, who will never leave you” (NLT, John 14:6). Elements such as your behavior, characteristics, work ethic, integrity and so forth, needs to be accounted for! SOMEBODY has to say: I sent you! On Earth, that "someone" should be your Pastor; your church home. “And I will give you pastors according to mine heart, which shall feed you with knowledge and understanding” (KJV, Jeremiah 3:15).“ Know the state of your flocks, and put your heart into caring for your herds,” (Proverbs 27:23). They should be accounted for your spiritual welfare: being pastured, church attendance, participating in church activities, taking discipleship classes, and so forth! Some one needs to know your name on Earth, but guiding you through the spiritual world as well!

I have personal relationships with the clergy (Pastors, minister, evangelists & chaplains) at my church. They pray for me, and I learn from them. Though not perfect, they lead by example. They are aware of my personal life, and spiritual welfare. This is how you grow! Being around those who are equipped with the tools to keep you polished! Remember, there are only two realms: GOD’s and the enemy’s. We are not just being attacked in the natural, but in the spiritual as well. We must come together in the name of Jesus Christ, as He has called us to do! With my church family, nothing is forced just genuine interaction. I am grateful of the leadership at Praise Tabernacle International! (Click on name to visit site.) I pray for, and over them. They make my experience that more special and loving.

Now of course you will not be everyone’s favorite sibling! It happens! What we must remember, however, is to still honor, and respect one another. The Bible commands us to “…Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.” (Mark 13:31). Honestly, practicing this command on the church level, can definitely help you outside of church.

Exposure

We are seen as “The Body” of Christ. In other words we all contribute differently in some way for the glory of Thee Lord. “Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it” (1 Corinthians 12:27, NIV).

Belonging to a church family exposes you to different levels of life. You have other singles, established men and women, wives, mothers, fathers, grandparents, and so forth! I have personally gained so much because of this! Most of my connections are older sisters who have already been where I am currently standing. The wisdom you get from hearing their testimonies, struggles, and victories are preciously priceless. The Bible speaks on this: “Similarly, teach the older women to live in a way that honors God. They must not slander others or be heavy drinkers. Instead, they should teach others what is good. These older women must train the younger women to love their husbands and their children,” (NLT, Titus 2:3-4).

I know a handful of members who own their own businesses, who have creative degrees, superb hard skills, and my reaction is always "WOW! You do that?" See for yourself!

(The entire (panels) wall unit was handmade by ONE person and customized for this floating effect)

I do not take these connections for granted. GOD, intrinsically ordered my steps to Praise Tabernacle International. I got Saved there. I got grounded there. Now I am being lead there.

Personal Gain?

“So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God” (Romans 10:17)! So how do you hear the Word? CHURCH! “So Christ himself gave the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, the pastors and teachers” (Ephesians 4:11). I go to church to be filled and escape the world. Be around the same minded people who believe in what you believe in: JESUS; and the ways to live a holy life “For other foundation can no man lay than that is laid, which is Jesus Christ” (1 Corinthians 3:11). Church keeps me grounded and reminds me of why I am here. We are representatives of Thee Kingdom. We are the light and salt of the world. As mentioned in my "How To Become Prey" article, I am at church 3-4xs a week for teaching, service and sharpening. I am so grateful for personal connections, my Divine Connections, I have made! (Read “Divine Connections”) These individuals encourage, speak life into me, and are a sense of relief! "Iron sharpeneth iron; so a man sharpeneth the countenance of his friend" (Proverbs 28:17).

Look at the text conversation I had today with one of my Divine Connections.

DC: Gray Me: Blue

I love the fact that I have church family who I can rely on, and grow with spiritually with! No one is perfect, but we are made perfect in Jesus Christ (Hebrews 10:14)! What a foundation to have!

Though I have somewhat of a "hectic" schedule working a full time job, blogging full time, mentoring, and taking care of myself, I always look forward to being with my brethren! In Heaven, we will be worshiping GOD together! Why not get used to it now?

Please read more on this topic in my #ChurchSeries:

-Selah...

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(Cover picture courtesy of Google)

Meet RashellSelah

I am a Christian Blogger...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
My Church Home

Praise Tabernacle International

"We are a Kingdom Church, that's transforming lives for Christ centered living."

1050 NW 43rd Avenue 

Plantation, FL 33313

Website: http://www.praiseti.org

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page